The Malta Bankers’ Association

The Malta Bankers’ Association, first established in May 1962, represents the interests of banks that are licensed to operate in Malta. Its mission is to promote an enabling environment for the banking sector through advocacy, capacity building, education and networking.

The Association is also represented on a number of fora. These include FinanceMalta, the Payment System Users’ Group (a joint committee chaired by the CBM), the Management Committee of the Depositor Compensation Scheme and the Joint Committee (together with the FIAU) for the Prevention of Money Laundering and Funding of Terrorism.

The Association is a full member of the European Banking Federation (EBF) and an Associate Member of the European Payment Council (EPC). As part of this relationship the Association also acts as a link between local applicants with the EPC and through its role as National Adherence Support Organisation (NASO).

The organisational set-up of the Association consists of:

  • The Board, which is primarily responsible for policy issues,
  • Six Standing Committees covering areas of current or potential interest to the Association,
  • A full-time Secretariat, and
  • Other technical working groups and sub-committees (of the main Standing Committees) which deal with specific business areas and issues, as may be established by the Board.
Media Room

Member Banks